Hitchhiker – A Short Story

It was a Saturday evening, I was going to meet my brother for the Thanksgiving holidays. And finally would meet my love after a long time, after 3 months. I know I am crazy but living a thousand miles away from your love was never easy for anyone. 

I was running my car over 60mph when I saw her, she was standing next to her red mustang, wearing a yellow blouse with a denim skirt. Waving her hand for the lift. First I was amused by her appearance but then remind myself, Dan, you have a girl waiting for you at home. 

I wanted to leave her there, but the sun has started to sets. It would be wrong to leave her in between the highway. Who knows what would happen to her. So I decided to pull over and asked her, ‘Ma’am, do you need some help?”

She first hesitated, hope I am not looking like a rapist here. I smiled slightly trying not to give her bad vibes. She then relaxed and replied, “Hi! Actually, my car is broken, it would be great if you help me to bring some mechanic help?”

I look at her car, both of the back tires were punctured. And she has no spare tyre. I humphed and checked my google map to locate a nearby garage. 

There was a garage and a motel but it was 90 miles away from here. As night has started to fall. The better idea would be to stay in a motel for a night then will bring a mechanic to mend the puncture. 

“ Ma’am, as night is falling and we are in the middle of the highway. I would suggest you stay at a motel. As the nearby garage is 90 miles away from here.” She looked confused and sacred. “Listen ma’am this highway is not safe for anyone.” She waited for a while and dialled something on her phone, maybe a message to her family.  She agreed and bring her luggage into my car. 

I ignited the engine and speed my car. 

It was around 9 pm I pull over at the motel. I was also tired of driving, so decided to stay for a night in the same motel. We check-in the motel and booked two adjacent rooms. 

In the journey of one and half hours, she stayed silent. Didn’t even ask for my name or from where I am?. I also didn’t bother to ask her. Just do not want to scare her off. I tried one or two times. But she stared at me with blank eyes. So it was good to stay silent. 

I took shower and decided to call Nia. There was an unsettling feeling in my heart which was kept on saying that CALL NIA NOW!!!. 

So I called her and fill her with everything that happened on my way. Now she was also feeling a bit weird by the girl’s reaction. She was expecting a Thank you from her. But then she also let it go by saying that I will only arrange a mechanic and then leave the girl there. I agreed with her and hung up.

But little did we both know that the sun will not rise any time sooner. This night was going to be the darkest night of my life. 

After switching from one channel to another I closed the TV and went to sleep. 

I hear a knock on my door. I checked my watch it was two in the morning. What the hell!!!

I squinted, wear my shirt and went for the door. 

I was taken aback by the view I saw. The girl was standing in front of me, wearing nothing. Literally zero clothes. My eyes pop out from the socket. WHAT THE HELL!!!!

I took off my shirt to cover her but she threw it on the floor and ran inside my room. I am dying from inside now. This girl is insane. I threw my blanket. This time she cover her body and started crying. I sat on the aisle of my bed. 

“W-what happened?”

She did not reply. 

“Look! If you do not tell me I will not be able to help you.”

She looked back at me. 

“Hi! My name is Rene. I am a 16-year-old. I ran from my house.” This information has blown my mind. I am with a teenager and she was naked. I would definitely end up in jail.  

I stayed calm. I didn’t touch her and will not even try to. 

I took a deep breath and asked her again, “Why did you run away from your house?”

“I ran away from the brothel.” What is actually happening? My whole body dripping sweat in the chilling night. 

“Why did not you tell me earlier? I would have helped you.” She scooted towards me and laid her head on my shoulder. 

“You are my man.” She said and sat on my lap. Trying all her way to seduce me. I am scared from inside. This girl will bring death to me. She tried her way inside my boxer and started rocking on my lap. I was about to give in when Nia’s face come to my mind.  I calmly put her down from my lap. 

“Listen, you are a child and I am an adult and married too. So you better stay away from me.” I got up and stormed out of the room.

And this was my biggest mistake. As it was chilling outside and I was wearing nothing other than a boxer and now a boner too. I stayed my whole night in the reception. All I have was my phone. 

When I get up in the morning it was seven in the morning. The receptionist was staring at me. I smiled sheepishly and leave for my room. I am embarrassed now. 

I was prying to god, that she either left my room or was in a deep sleep. I will sneak out as quietly as possible. 

I reached for my room and when I opened it I was in shock. My whole room was messy. As if someone had a party last night. I checked for my stuff but found nothing. My luggage, my wallet, my care key all were missing. 

I ran from my room to her, her room was clean and her luggage was also not there. 

I ran to the reception and asked her about the girl. She showed me today’s newspaper. It was the girl on the front page, smiling devilishly at me. She was a con-woman. But I was wrong when I read the headline. 

A SERIAL KILLER COUPLE IS ON RUN!” followed by, “Both of them has killed around 15 people on their way and use their vehicle and money to move on to a different place. They have crossed 2 states by now. Their killing map is leading them to Boston…’

I was now dripping in sweat. I looked at the receptionist. We both were in a shocking state. The only thing going inside my head was;

Should I cry over my stolen things or say thank you to god to save my life? 

7 thoughts on “Hitchhiker – A Short Story

  1. Wow, what a ride!! Indeed he should count his blessings, good thing he had common sense to make the right choices by not getting in a bad situation. Imagine waking up and realizing one just escaped a twisted tale that could have been. The tales you spin and the web you get readers stuck in Enni is amazing lovely♥️🌹.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment